A handmade Christmas part two: All natural baubles

My next lot of decorations can be bought from just about anywhere in the run up to Christmas, but it’s always more fun to make your own.

For my all natural baubles I decided to use pine cones. I absolutely love pine cones, and think they make a great addition to just about any Christmassy craft. If you’re not as fanatic about pine cones as I am, whole nuts work just as well. Walnuts in particular look lovely hanging from a tree.

First of all I collected a mountain of pine cones (If you’re not lucky enough to have pine trees near your house, they can be purchased quite cheap from floristry wholesalers).

scotch-pine-cone-marilynne-bull-jpg

If you collect the cones yourself leave them in a warm place for a few days to dry out and fully open up. Once the cones are dry they are ready to be painted.

Image

Metallic paints work really well with the earthy wooden colours of pine cones, choose a colour that matches your theme, I used a combination of gold, silver, and iridescent glitter spray paint (poster paint works just as well, but will take a little more time). If you are using spray paint be sure to do it in a well ventilated area, and leave the paint to dry over night.

Image

Once the paint is dry, tie string, or ribbon into a loop, and secure it to the top of the pine cone using a hot glue gun. Alternatively, metal decoration hangers can be purchased from most craft shops, these can be simply pressed into the top of the pine cones.

When the glue is dry the decorations are ready for hanging.

IMG_0012 (2)

As alternatives decorations I used the same process to hang acorns

IMG_0001 (2)

and London plane tree fruit.

IMG_0001

The great thing about crafting with natural items such as this, is that they need so little work to end up looking lovely. I’m going to fill a clear glass vase with my left over cones to make table decorations for when the family are over.

Leave a comment