Homemade advent calendar

I have another nifty #christmasinjuly post for you today.

When it comes to Christmas crafts I am a sucker for any craft shop. Last year I was completely blown with the advent calendar section in my local Hobbycraft store and decided to make a reusable calendar for my boyfriend and sister-in-law.

I love reusable advent calendars, it’s so nice to be able to personalise what’s inside in each drawer, and they are a lovely thing to have on display each year.

Hobbycraft have an amazing selection, I used the house (below left), but you can get the tree (right) from store now for £10 as it’s out of season. They also do a pretty incredible Coca-Cola-style truck. Of course you don’t have to get them from Hobbycraft (I must sound like I’m on commission) there are loads of other shops offering similar products. Have a browse online you’ll find a whole host of other options.

601062_1000_1_800

There’s no real method to making one of these. Just let your creativity inspire you. I spent a couple of hours armed with red and green paint, old christmas cards, craft paper, PVA glue and some pretty fantastic seasonal buttons.

The result was really quite handsome, even if I do say so myself.

IMG_20150712_195931841

Leave a comment